Not Quite Asian, Not Quite American; Fully Human

He has amazing parents that we could all take a lesson from the first time we think about complaining about the bad hand we were dealt in life. I can’t imagine moving to a new country with nothing but a few dollars and the clothes on your back. Can you?

J.S. Park

My mom and dad came to this country separately over thirty years ago and met in New York City, where they were married; my dad came to the U.S. with sixty dollars in his single pair of pants, and my mom couldn’t speak a word of English.  My dad was a Vietnam War Veteran, 2nd Lieutenant in the R.O.K. Army on the side of the U.S., and the only escaped prisoner of war from the Tet Offensive in 1969.  He’s also a licensed veterinarian and a Grand Master of Tae Kwon Do, a ninth degree black belt, the 54th 9th degree in the world.

Before my parents divorced when I was fourteen, my mom owned a laundromat and a grocery store next door to each other and would run back and forth between them to serve customers; sometimes she took old clothes that people left behind because we were…

View original post 975 more words

Leave a Reply

